

THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWNSHIP OF TAY

450 Park St. PO Box 100 Victoria Harbour, ON LOK 2A0 Telephone (705) 534-7248

Facsimile (705) 534-4493

Website: www.tay.ca

MEDIA RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Date: December 8, 2016

Time: 2:00 pm

Tay Township Council Appoints Heinrich Naumann as new Ward 2 Councillor

VICTORIA HARBOUR, TAY TOWNSHIP, ON - Mayor Scott Warnock announced today that following a special council meeting this morning to review the applications from 12 individuals that applied to fill the vacant council seat in Ward 2 that Heinrich Naumann was elected to fill the vacancy . With the recent appointment of former councillor David Ritchie to the position of Deputy Mayor, Council officially was declared his former ward 2 seat vacant as per section 259 and 262 of the Municipal Act, 2001 on November 9th.

Mayor Warnock stated that "All members of Council this morning clearly stated they were looking for an individual that brings previous council experience to the table with only two years remaining in this term of Council. Heinrich Naumann received the clear majority of votes cast this morning having been the Ward 3 Councillor from 2010 – 2014 Council."

A special swearing in ceremony will be held on Wednesday, December 14 at 9 am in the Council Chambers after which Councillor elect Naumann will take his official seat for the regular scheduled Committee of All Council Meeting starting at 10 am.

A copy of the agenda for the Special Council meeting and the regular Committee of all Council meetings will be posted on the website at www.tay.ca on Friday, December 09, 2016.

- 30 -

Contacts:

Scott Warnock Mayor

Phone: 705-534-7248 ext. 258

Email: swarnock@tay.ca

Robert J. Lamb

Chief Administrative Officer Phone: 705-534-7248 ext. 222

Email: rlamb@tay.ca

Tay Township, Ontario | Web: www.tay.ca | Twitter: @TayTownship | Phone: 705-534-7248