Interior background

Tay Township awards $26,750 to community organizations

Posted on Thursday May 30, 2019

Tay, Ontario: At the May 22nd Regular Council meeting, Mayor Ted Walker presented cheques totalling $26,750 to community organizations. Tay Township’s Grants and Donations Program supports local groups and organizations that provide—with assistance from volunteers—a direct benefit to Tay residents.

Mayor Ted Walker and grant recipients

Mayor Ted Walker and grant recipients Negin Company, Cathy Greer, Sara Reimer, JoAnn Warren, John O’Hara, Lisa McFadyen, Kate Arnold, Harry Patterson, Jill Richards, Victoria Reaume, Harry Gerstheimer, Matt Murray, Peter Davis, and Doug Barker.

Tay Township contributed $6,800 to community events, including Portarama ($2,500), Tay Bike Day ($500), Tay Canada Day ($1,300), Santa Claus Parade ($1,300), North Simcoe Culture Awards ($1,000), and Coldwater Fall Fair ($200).

The Township awarded $4,500 to Community Reach for its Transportation Linking Communities program, $4,000 to Wendat and Southern Georgian Bay Ontario Provincial Police for their new joint Mental Health Response Unit pilot program, $750 to Tall Pines Property Owners Association for beautification of Waubaushene Beach, and $2,600 for graduation awards and Simcoe County’s Post-Secondary Education Bursary Program. 

Royal Canadian Legion ($300), Crime Stoppers Simcoe Dufferin Muskoka ($1,000), Southeast Georgian Bay Chamber of Commerce ($500), Port McNicoll Lions Club ($2,200), and Port McNicoll Cemetery ($1,100) also received support from the program. 

“Tay Township recognizes the valuable contributions made by community organizations and volunteer groups to provide programs, services and events that enhance community well-being and quality of life in Tay,” said Mayor Ted Walker.

The Grants Committee invites applications for the next round of community funding by October 31, 2019. Visit to learn more about the Grants and Donations Program.

Tay Township is committed to delivering responsive and cost-effective municipal services and infrastructure that provide for the long-term economic, social and environmental well-being of our residents and community.



Joanne Sanders
Director of Finance / Treasurer
705-534-7248 x226
Email Joanne

Lynn Racicot
Communications and Special Projects Officer
705-534-7248 x264
Email Lynn